Skip to content

The Countdown

October 1, 2010

Okay, we’re in one week countdown mode.

I got paid today (thanks, boss!) so I now know exactly how much (or how little) I will have to cover this trip. This opportunity has definitely been made possible by the generous people who have donated.

Anyway, I will be keeping close tabs on the dollars and cents this week. Luckily, I’m a planner, so I’ve pretty much already bought everything I need. I’m basically down to needing hand sanitizer, a bug bite stick and possibly shoes (because I’m a girl and we need shoes).

I did a pre-pack this week and everything fits great – another good reason to not buy anything else. My friend Rita donated the perfect loaner bag for the occasion. Anything that doesn’t fit there will definitely fit in my new rugged travel purse. (Of course I needed a new purse…I mentioned that I’m a girl, right?)

All of this means no checked luggage which I adore. Although I’m hoping to bring some donated supplies so that stuff may get checked.

Anyway, finances will be tight, but I can definitely make this trip work if I stay very frugal.

As always, if you are interested, there is still time to donate. I will try to update the blog while I’m away, but I am going to find a special way to thank those who donated. I’m not sure how… I’m going to let Haiti reveal the answer to me.

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 5, 2010 6:16 pm

    Did you mention that the bag was pink? total GIRL!

Leave a Reply

