Skip to content

Compassion

October 24, 2010

I was recently talking to a group of people about my trip when one of them mentioned that the people in Haiti were lazy. If things were bad, this person said, they should just leave.

I was shocked at his lack of compassion and his inability to see how strong the people of Haiti truly are. It’s hard to say how you would react in this type of situation, but if I was living in a tent because my home had been destroyed and family members had died, I’m not sure I would wake up in the morning, put on a nice dress and head off to work.

But the people in Haiti do. They wake up, they dress their children in their perfect little uniforms and take them by the hand to their school, insisting that their children get the best education, the best chance at a better life. They work hard all day to provide for their family and then return home…to a tent. I have do much admiration for their strength.

As you have probably seen on the news, there is a cholera outbreak just north of Port-au-Prince. I am hopeful that it would reach the mountain orphanage of Kenscoff and confident that New Life Children’s Home will be okay with their water-purification systems. But I fear deeply for the tent cities in and around Port-au-Prince. If disease takes hold in these areas with people in such close quarters, it will be a catastrophe. Hospitals are already overwhelmed with routine care.

I hope this tragedy is the incentive that governments around the world need to release the aid they have promised to Haiti so this country can start to rebuild proper homes for its people.

Crucial Twitter updates on the cholera outbreak from people on the ground can be found here.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

